3D no glasses.

I’ll bet if you are reading this you still haven’t purchased a 3D TV yet. The question is why? For me, I’m not sure about you, the biggest reason are 3D glasses. I just can’t see lounging around with my family wearing those ridiculous glasses. Not to mention its one more thing to lose in your living room.

Well, finally some great news for 3D. The big boys like Sony / Samsung have “perfected’ screens that have 3D built in – no glasses needed! Now, I say “perfected” because this technology has been around for a long time and I even saw consumer applications at the Nvidia Nvision conference about 6 years ago. So it’s no surprised that it finally surfaced from a major player. The challenge with screen based 3D is you had to sit dead-on with the television in order to experience 3D. Also, the 3D wasn’t all that great like it is with today’s shutter glasses or newly enhanced 3D glasses. Well, it looks like our fortunes are changing and several have perfected screen based 3D, no glasses needed and best of all big fat screens for the family to enjoy from any viewing angle. Woo hoo!!

I’ll let you know when the “glassless” 3D TV’s hit stores. You have to check them out. However, you might want to a wait a year for the prices to go down. Once these hit stores they will be marked-up about 30% more than you will see them a year from launch.

Leave a comment